21 Spelling Bee Finalists Presented To Otumfuo Foundation Ahead Of National Competition

The 21 Brilliant students who are representing the Northern Zone in the National Finals of this year’s National Spelling Bee Competition have been presented to the Board Chairman of Otumfuo Foundation.

The team, together with the Spelling Bee, teachers and the 21 National Finalists paid a courtesy call on Otumfuo Hiahene and the Board Chairman of the Foundation, Nana Prof Oheneba Boachie-Adjei Woahene II to receive his blessings ahead of the finals.

The Otumfuo Osei Tutu II Foundation entered into a partnership with Young Educators Foundation (YEF), organizers of the National Spelling Bee in 2021 in an effort to give opportunities to brilliant children in public schools who could excel in the Spelling Bee program but have no means to pay for the program’s participation fees.

This was a special initiative of Her Royal Highness, Lady Julia Osei Tutu who has a keen interest in providing quality education for all children.

In 2021, the Foundation in partnership with tutors from YEF groomed twenty (20) Children of which three (3) Qualified for the National Finals.

In 2022, the Otumfuo Foundation again groomed twenty (20) children of which 15 Spellers have qualified for the National Finals to be held in Accra on the 4th of February, 2023.

These 15 National Finalists in addition to six (6) others who have qualified from the Northern Zone are set to leave Kumasi for the grand finals on 4th February 2023.

In attendance were;
The Executive Director of Otumfuo Osei Tutu II Foundation – Nana Afua Kobi Prempeh

CEO of Young Educators Foundation and Country Director of the spelling bee – Eugenia Tachie-Menson

Programmes Manager of the spelling bee – Salome Dzakpasu

List of 21 National Finalists from the Northern zone:
1. Joyce S. Agyemang – Martyrs Of Uganda.
2. Bill Gate Kwarteng – Patasi M/A JHS.
3. Ken M. Obeng Andoh – Opoku Ware Basic.
4. Faustina A. Sam – 4 Batallion Basic.
5. Yaa Konadu A. Boateng 4 Batallion Basic.
6. Blessing A. Nyarko- Amakom Adventist JHS.
7. Anna T. Nyinkah- Good Shepherd R/C JHS.
8. Gabrien A. Badu -Prempeh College Basic “C”
9. Samuella Osae – Martrys Of Uganda Basic.
10. Abena K. Kwaffo – KNUST Basic School.
11. Samuella Osei Boateng- Opoku Ware Basic.
12. Samuella B. Kwarteng-KNUST Basic School
13. Edmund N. Koranteng- State Experimental Basic 2.
14. Grace Owusu Appiah – Weweso M/A JHS.
15. Afia F. Afriyie Danquah State Experimental Basic 2.
16. Serwaa Adu Bonsu – Naggies Angels.
17. Charlyn Acquah-Ankomah- Naggies Angels
18. Rejoice Tantuoyir – Anglogold Ashanti School.
19. Ruhama Nyarko Fosu – Anglogold Ashanti School.
20. Emily Amoako – Anglogold Ashanti School
21. Melissa Abban – Jayliss School.

Source: Opemsuo.com/ Emmanuel Owusu Anti

Prev Otumfuo Partakes In Star Beer Production Relaunch
Next Ghana Post To Launch Commemorative Stamp In Honour Of Otumfuo

Comments are closed.